Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read So Far

toptentuesday

The topic for this week is Top Ten Best Books I’ve Read So Far. I’ve read 21 books so far this year towards my goal of 50 (yikes!), and those are the books that I’m choosing from for this post, no matter the genre or pub date! As usual, this weekly meme is courtesy of the amazing blog, The Broke and the Bookish so make sure to check out their own Top Ten Tuesday list!


1. The Wonder by Emma Donoghue: I started off my year reading this, and it really set the bar high. I’ve never read Emma Donoghue before, so this was a real treat. Religion, secrets, and determination are major driving forces for all characters, but for very different reasons. If you’re looking for something that’s different to read, then this is the book for you.

2. The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace: My introduction to reading poetry for pleasure was really great, thanks to this book. I love the fluidity of her verse, and how some of them are structured in a cool way so it reads as a double meaning kind of. I think if you’re looking for something to read after Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, then this is the poetry book you need to pick up next!

3. The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins: This book came from the heart, and the inspiration behind this, unfortunately, came from a personal crisis Ellen was going through. I didn’t expect gender identity to be such a huge part of this novel, so it was a neat twist and perspective that I think worked well.

4. The Orphan’s Tale by Pam Jenoff: I’m not a fan of historical fiction, but this book definitely made me into one! I love the circus focus, and how emotional it is. Any book that can make me feel something is one that’s well-written, and a great read!

5. Full Curl by Dave Butler: A mystery book. I love my mysteries. This one is different though, because you KNOW who killers are the entire time. I normally don’t like it, but it worked so well for Full Curl that I literally just can’t. It was so good, and a great read to pick up for the summer! (review to come soon, so keep an eye out for it!)

6. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas: Diversity, relatable, and 1000% needed in this world. What more could I say? You have to read this book.

7. Ginny Moon by Benjamin Ludwig: I’ve already claimed this book as my book to beat. I really, really, really love this book. It wasn’t what I was expecting at all, and it was just amazingly heart-wrenching, and yet so funny at the same time. I never thought I could love a character as young as Ginny.

8. This Is Just My Face by Gabourey Sidibe: A funny memoir, and another book that I wasn’t expecting to love. It’s a great book to read on your commute…but don’t try to laugh out loud in public!

9. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood: I never got the chance to read this book at all during high school or my undergrad. I heard so much about the show, and I thought “why not?” I’m so glad I got in on this book. It still amazes me that it was written like what, over 20 years ago and it’s still relevant today.

10. In This Grave Hour by Jacqueline Winspear: A 1940s mystery book…no technology, no social media, no technology used to solve this crime. Just some crayons, and great minds. Mind = blown.


Well, that’s it for my top 10! I genuinely loved all of these books. My hopes for the rest of the year is that I keep reading out of my comfort zone, and I discover new and exciting books to share with you.


You can find me on TwitterInstagramGoodreads, and 50BookPledge

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read So Far

Leave a Reply

