Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Dads in Literature

toptentuesday

The topic for this week is a “father freebie,” as I like to call it. So my chosen focus is Top Ten Favourite Dads in Literature. As usual, this weekly meme is courtesy of the amazing blog, The Broke and the Bookish so make sure to check out their own Top Ten Tuesday list!


Of course, no one tops my dad. But he isn’t in literature, so I GUESS these ones will have to do.

1. Brian Fitzgerald from My Sister’s Keeper: Fire fighter – check. Funny guy – check. Amazing person – double check. One of the reasons why I love “My Sister’s Keeper” so much is because of Brian. I just think he’s written with just the right amount of perfection for this type of novel. * swoon *

2. Sirius Black from do I really need to say? I know Sirius isn’t a biological father to anyone, but c’mon. He was a great stand-in for James, and Harry loved him like a father. It is Sirius’ loyalty, honesty, and perseverance that makes him my absolute favourite Harry Potter character of all time. Oh, and his completely bad-ass attitude is pretty charming too. The cool-dad-with-a-motorcycle type of guy.

3. Ted from Lily and the Octopus: Again, this one isn’t a biological dad. But a dog-dad is the same thing, am I right? Yes. The dedication and devotion that Ted has for Lily is so sweet, and this is exactly the reason that made me fall in love with this book, and make it my favourite read of 2016. Beautiful.

4. Big Mav from The Hate U Give: OK, he’s looked at in awe and a little fear in his community. But don’t mess with his family, or he’s coming for you. Big Mav is hands-down the coolest dad in literary life…just slightly above Sirius Black coolness level.

5. Grandpa Joe Bucket from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: Ok, so I know some literary critics say how the Bucket family is abusing Charlie in a way. BUT, despite those valid theories, the bond between Grandpa Joe and Charlie is one that I’ve always loved as a child growing up, and the father/son dynamic between them is pretty sweet too (haha, get it? Sweet like chocolate).

6. Brian Moon from Ginny Moon: Brian is Ginny’s Forever Dad in her Forever Home. Despite his wife’s obvious fear of Ginny throughout most of the book, he didn’t want to give up on her. He encouraged her to try to do better, and make the right choices. Which is, to me, what every dad out there is supposed to do.

7. Harry Potter in The Cursed Child: Harry loves his kids unconditionally, and also has to repair the friendship between himself and Albus. It all comes down to the example Harry sets for his kids, and he’s taught them to have courage, honesty, and loyalty for those they love. Great parenting, Harry.

8. Don Vito Corleone from The Godfather: How can I not put The Don on this list? Major respect.


Happy Father’s Day to all the dad’s out there! Thank you for always being a strong, guiding fore and teaching us between right and wrong. #SuperDads


You can find me on TwitterInstagramGoodreads, and 50BookPledge
One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Dads in Literature

Leave a Reply

