Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: “This is Just My Face” by Gabourey Sidibe

unnamed

Author: Gabourey Sidibe

Title: This is Just My Face

Genre: Autobiography, Memoir

Theme: race, religion, self-acceptance


Summary:

(From Goodreads): Gabourey Sidibe—“Gabby” to her legion of fans—skyrocketed to international fame in 2009 when she played the leading role in Lee Daniels acclaimed movie Precious. In This is Just My Face, she shares a one-of-a-kind life story. Sidibe paints her Bed-Stuy/Harlem family life with a polygamous father and a gifted mother who supports her two children by singing in the subway. Sidibe tells the story of her first job as a phone sex “talker.” And she shares her unconventional rise to fame as a movie star, alongside “a superstar cast of rich people who lived in mansions and had their own private islands and amazing careers while I lived in my mom’s apartment.”


Thoughts:

Before I read this book, I literally only knew this girl from the movie Precious. To be honest, I haven’t even watched the movie, or read the book. So you can see how I’m going into reading this book; basically not knowing anything about Gabby, and not a huge fan of memoirs.

But hey, I won this book, so I was adamant on reading it, and I’m so glad I did!

Gabby has a great writing style, and it just immediately draws you in, and how sort of “in the moment” you are. For real, the amount of times I embarrassed myself on the bus reading This is Just My Face and trying so hard not to laugh. You can tell every word came from the heart, and I love it. I literally went from not knowing much about “the girl from Precious” to knowing everything about Gabby, and who she really is.

The savage level she has is something I aspire to. Blocking people like no tomorrow….truly inspirational.

I mentioned this earlier, but I’m not a huge fan of memoirs. The only one I remember reading is Ozzy’s. I’m not a fan of getting one side of a story (hello! That’s what 25 pages of google is for), but I enjoyed this book enough to forget the genre, and just relax and let Gabby’s story (ahem, life,) take me through its course.

I love how real Gabby is. She doesn’t sugar coat anything to make herself look better in whatever situation she’s discussing. She leaves it all out there for her readers, and I hope that would make people love her more, because hello, how many famous people are real like this? You never know the whole story, but with Gabby, I feel like we got it.


Final Grade:

Personal Opinion: 4.5/5. Seriously so funny, and if you’re looking for a real, and inspirational story, then this is it. MAYBE I’ll bump this up to a 5 if Gabby ends up writing a fiction novel. (Ok, most likely).

Technical Opinion: 5/5. I really don’t have much to compare this book to (besides Ozzy’s. Does that really count though?). So I’m not going to pretend I’m a memoir-genre expert, but I loved what I read, and I’m not entirely sure whether I’ll like another memoir as much as this one!


Links

Twitter

Instagram

Website

Goodreads


What do you think about This is Just My Face, or memoirs in general? Is this a favourite genre for anyone out there? Let me know what your thoughts are in the comments below!


You can find me on TwitterInstagramGoodreads, and 50BookPledge

Leave a Reply

