Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: “Ginny Moon” by Benjamin Ludwig

32195586

Author: Benjamin Ludwig

Title: Ginny Moon

Genre: Fiction

Theme: children, autism, challenges, adoption


Summary:

(From Goodreads) Told in an extraordinary and wholly unique voice that will candidly take you into the mind of a curious and deeply human character.

For the first time in her life, Ginny Moon has found her “forever home”—a place where she’ll be safe and protected, with a family that will love and nurture her. It’s exactly the kind of home that all foster kids are hoping for. So why is this 14-year-old so desperate to get kidnapped by her abusive, drug-addict birth mother, Gloria, and return to a grim existence of hiding under the kitchen sink to avoid the authorities and her mother’s violent boyfriends?

While Ginny is pretty much your average teenager—she plays the flute in the school band, has weekly basketball practice and studies Robert Frost poems for English class—she is autistic. And so what’s important to Ginny includes starting every day with exactly nine grapes for breakfast, Michael Jackson, bacon-pineapple pizza and, most of all, getting back to Gloria so she can take care of her baby doll.

Ginny Moon is a compulsively readable and touching novel about being an outsider trying to find a place to belong and making sense of a world that just doesn’t seem to add up.


Thoughts:

I read this book a few months ago, and I’m still completely moved by it. A story of sadness, hope, and amusing situations all in one. Is it fair to say that you get one book for the price of three?

The emotional roller coaster was insane! At one minute I was happy, the next I was just crying uncontrollably because of Ginny and what she did, or what she revealed (no spoilers, I promise). Her reasoning behind her decisions just leaves me baffled, but that’s a good thing. Ginny is autistic, so whatever she thinks in her mind, the reader feels and thinks as well. So reading Ginny Moon gave me a real perspective on autistic children (something I have ZERO experience with).

I love how Benjamin gives us all of Ginny. He never sugar-coated her thoughts or actions to get a better reception of who she is. What you see is what you get with Ginny, and that’s just what Benjamin did perfectly. I love her good qualities and her bad ones, and she read so REAL, you know what I mean? Benjamin has great writing and story-telling skills, and they really shine in Ginny Moon!


Final Grade:

Personal Opinion: 100/5. Impossible score, but I can do what I want. I’ve tweeted about this before, and it’s up on my goodreads post: this is my favourite book of the year, and any book I read now will be compared to this. I wonder if any book will trump this one?

Technical Opinion: 5/5. I love fiction that’s loosely based on real life, so that’s why Ginny Moon gets a perfect score here! Fast, fun, and emotional read. I love it.


Links:

Benjamin’s Website

Goodreads

Twitter (he’s pretty good at answering/liking tweets!)

Facebook


I went specifically to HarperCollins Canada for an event just for this book, and it was so much fun! I hope you all enjoy this book, and go out to any book signings/appearances that Benjamin is at in the future. He’s such a good guy, and very approachable!

Have you read Ginny Moon yet? What do you think? If you haven’t read it, do you think you’ll be interested? Let me know in the comments below!


You can find me on TwitterInstagramGoodreads, and 50BookPledge

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Ginny Moon” by Benjamin Ludwig

Leave a Reply

