Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: “Boring Girls” by Sara Taylor

images

Author: Sara Taylor

Title: Boring Girls

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Theme: death, music


Summary:

(From Goodreads) Rachel feels like she doesn’t fit in — until she finds heavy metal and meets Fern, a kindred spirit. The two form their own band, but the metal scene turns out to be no different than the misogynist world they want to change. Violent encounters escalate, and the friends decide there’s only one way forward . . .

A bloodstained journey into the dark heart of the music industry, Boring Girls traces Rachel’s deadly coming-of-age, Fern at her side — as the madness deepens, their band’s success heightens, and their taste for revenge grows ravenous.


Thoughts:

Although I’m not into metal music or that part of the industry much, I did find myself liking this book a lot. I was definitely more intrigued with how Rachel grew up and that part of the story, rather than the bands rise to fame. I think this book was entertaining, and it definitely gave me a different perspective into how vast publishing really is (I mean, who writes a book about murdering girls in metal music? Genius). This book is totally girl-power, kick-ass kind of vibe, which also made me like it more.

I do wish there was more detail with regards to the murders. It was so short, and the novel ended shortly after that I had no time to process everything. I just personally think it took too long to get to the climax of the story, which is too bad because for those who know me, you know I love a good crime story. This fell slightly short, but I love what Rachel and Fern stand for, and I respect their decisions and why they made them.


Final Grade:

Personal Opinion: 3.5/5. It was too drawn out, and not as much action I would’ve hoped. But it was a joy to read, I truly loved reading this book. If you’re looking for something that’s new, fresh, and different – then this should be next on your reading list.

Technical Opinion: 4/5. As a contemporary novel, I think it fits the bill well. It gave a different perspective and an unconventional way that women kill. Posion? That’s old-school.


Links:

Twitter

Website

Goodreads


Have you read this novel yet? What did you think? Also, “Boring Girls” is being made into a digital series, so that’s something to keep an eye out for! I’m totally excited for this!


Sorry for not being active a lot lately! Getting used to the intern life is pretty hard. But I’m slowly getting back on this. Thanks for sticking around ❤


You can find me on Twitter, InstagramGoodreads, and 50BookPledge

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Boring Girls” by Sara Taylor

Leave a Reply

