Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: “Neon Soul” by Alexandra Elle

neon-soul

Author: Alexandra Elle

Title: Neon Soul

Genre: Poetry

Theme: resilience, self-care


Summary:

(From Goodreads) – Alexandra Elle writes frankly about her experience as a young, single mother while she celebrates her triumph over adversity and promotes resilience and self-care in her readers. This book of all-new poems from the beloved author of Words From A Wanderer and Love In My Language is a quotable companion on the road to healing.


Thoughts:

Well, after previous success I’ve had in poetry (Amanda Lovelace and Ellen Hopkins books), I thought I would try just ONE more. I really should have just stopped there, to be honest.

I’m not a poetry fan, and I think you really need to be invested in this genre to appreciate the classic structure it has. “Neon Soul” is a poetry book, through and through. Nothing really stood out for me, and I think that’s because I was just expecting quirky structures. I’m disappointed that I didn’t enjoy this.

What I did like was the occasional sketches in some poems. That was a really nice touch that I’ve never seen before. They were simple, and complemented the content well. The poems that I really liked were the ones that preached about self-love, and owning who you are. There was true inspiration behind Alexandra’s words.

Other than that, I really don’t have much to say about “Neon Soul”. I wasn’t exactly impressed by this, but I do appreciate Alexandra for taking the time to write about her difficult journey. Kudos to you ❤


Final Grade:

Personal Opinion: 2/5. I hate giving books a bad personal mark, but it has to be done sometimes. I really expected “Neon Soul” to be something so much more than it was.

Technical Opinion: 4/5. The stanza’s reminded me of a lot of poems I read during my undergrad, so sticking with the norm in “Neon Soul” does work. Her own little twist on this and adding in those sketches was a nice touch as well.


Links:

Website

Twitter

Goodreads


Has there ever been a poetry book  (or any book!) that you thought you would love, but it didn’t live up to your expectations? Which book was that, and why? Let me know in the comments below. Happy Reading!


You can find me on Twitter, Goodreads, and 50BookPledge

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Neon Soul” by Alexandra Elle

Leave a Reply

