Monthly Wrap Ups · Uncategorized

January Wrap Up 2017

It’s officially the end of January, which means that it’s time for a January Wrap Up post (and my first ever wrap up! I’m definitely going to make this a monthly feature as of right now. New year, new blog ventures).

I’ve read a total of 4 books this month. That’s ALMOST one book a week, so when I put it like that it sounds even more impressive than I originally thought. Being in school does make it a bit difficult to read as much as I would like, which is a bummer. 


Book Reviews

“The Wonder” by Emma Donoghue

“Still Mine” by Amy Stuart

“The Princess Saves Herself in this One” by Amanda Lovelace

”I Love My Love” by Reyna Biddy (Mays)

 

My favourite book of the month definitely was “The Wonder” I thought it was just so perfect. It left such a huge impression on me that it possibly ruined my reading experience for “Still Mine” since they are both in the same genre, and both equally hyped over twitter. Not to say that I fault “The Wonder” in any way for its complete and utter awesomeness.

I was also left with the same feeling for the two poetry books I read, “The Princess Saves Herself in this One” and “I Love My Love” …..the first book was AMAZING, and really shocked me because I actually fell in love with a poetry novel on my first try with the genre since university. The second one, on the other hand, did nothing for me. Maybe poetry for me is just a one trick pony kind of thing?


Goodreads / 50 Book Pledge Update:

I am on book 5/50 for my goals for this year! Goodreads says that I’m ONE book ahead of schedule, and I’m hoping I can keep it that way! I’ve never completed a goodreads or 50 Book Pledge challenge before, but I’m DETERMINED.


Extra Content

I took a part in a January Bookstagram challenge, and posted up almost all of my photos that came directly from my Instagram feed ….although it was so much fun to do, it’s a LOT of work. Although I sadly couldn’t finish off this challenge, I was happy with the posts that came out of it. I feel like since I’m such a new account, I should be creating content that is inspired by ME, not by others. So I think for the month of February, that’s what I’ll be concentrating on.

I was also asked by the fabulous workers over at Lootcrate to come up with my own Dreamcrate blog post, which I had so much fun doing! I loved finding everything to use for my post, and it was just a great project to be a part of, especially because they found me specifically because of this blog. I mean, how awesomely cool is that, right?


That’s it for January! 11 months left to go of the year, and I’m excited to see what’s coming my way. I have some NetGalley books to get through, as well as some ARC’s that I’ve won in twitter contests. I wonder if I can read 5 books in February, and beat this months record? Let’s see what happens.

If you have posted a January Wrap Up post or anything similar, put a link in the comments below! I love reading what others write, and also following new blogs. Happy reading 🙂

3 thoughts on “January Wrap Up 2017

Leave a Reply

