Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: “I Love My Love” by Reyna Biddy (Mays)

Love my Love.jpg
Photo via Goodreads

Author: Reyna Biddy (her Goodreads name, however, is Reyna Mays)

Title: “I Love My Love”

Genre: Poetry

Theme: self-esteem, love 


I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not influence my opinion of this book.

Summary: 

From Goodreads: In short, poignant verses, Reyna Mays’ poems explore pain, emotional reckoning, and the power of self-love. The debut collection from 22-year-old poet Reyna Mays, I Love My Love tells the story of Reyna’s childhood, her parents toxic relationship, and how, against all odds, she learned to love herself.


Thoughts:

I honestly just could not get into this book, and I really don’t know why. The description was great, and I absolutely love the cover. I suppose I just couldn’t entirely relate to it? I loved it at some points, but at other parts I just felt so lost and out of place; I couldn’t fully immerse myself into Reyna’s book which is such a shame on my part. I do get why other reviewers on Goodreads really appreciate this book, but I just can’t bring myself to agree with them. With that being said, I liked the structure of the poems and the mix between verse/prose (and the prose part reading like verse! A very nice touch). You honestly have to be a 100% avid poetry reader, and a fan of her Tumblr page (link below) to truly love this book, and where Reyna is coming from.

Her message is beautiful, and it’s the main reason why I kept on reading. Just LOVE yourself, don’t let anyone change who you are, and don’t take crap from no one. This book can open up the door to so many discussions about loving yourself, and how to get there, so I really admire Reyna for sharing her story with us, in this way.


Final Grade:

Personal Opinion: 2.5/5. I either loved or didn’t like parts of the book – for a better grade, I obviously need to love all aspects of this novel.

Technical Opinion: 5/5. The way Reyna used prose and verse was just absolutely stunning, and for someone like me who normally doesn’t get poetry, I think the structure was amazing.


Links:

Twitter

Tumblr

Goodreads


Has anyone read this poetry book already? If you have, please comment below about why you loved it! I want to know what I missed out on.

One thought on “Book Review: “I Love My Love” by Reyna Biddy (Mays)

Leave a Reply

