Book Reviews · poetry · Uncategorized

Book Review: “The Princess Saves Herself in this One” by Amanda Lovelace

img_1201
Photo from screenshot of NetGalley ebook.

Author: Amanda Lovelace

Title: “The Princess Saves Herself in this One”

Genre: Poetry, Feminism, Nonfiction

Theme: grief, empowerment


I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not influence my opinion of this book.

Summary:

Amanda Lovelace details the tragic upheavals in her life through verse and a bare minimum of prose. From her childhood, to her devastating relationship, to a crucial epiphany of self-realiztion and respect, Amanda Lovelace leaves nothing from her readers, she is completely an open book that many can relate to (or open poem, if you may).


Thoughts:

Let me start by saying…I’m not a fan of poetry. In fact, I really dislike it *insert collective, angry gasp.* I was always forced to read super old, technical poets throughout university and that, unfortunately, really turned me off of poems. For the 2017 year however, I made it my own personal goal to explore 2 or 3 books from genre’s I generally don’t read, so this is the first book in this reading journey of mine.

I’m so glad I downloaded this book off NetGalley.

Amanda Lovelace somehow did the impossible…she made me fall in love with poetry. I really enjoyed reading into her life, and silently rooting for her the whole way. Her story is a life that starts out hopeless and very, very sad, but it later blossoms and grows into a life worth living – a happy one, all about YOUR(her)SELF. Her story is so relatable, and can reach so many people who struggle with similar issues. All you have to do is read this book, and you’ll know that, despite everything, you will eventually be okay.

I love her style – she writes a poem that is then followed by a short sentence, either summarizing the above poem or driving home a hard point. I think this is so creative and inventive, and I was blown away by how she used this structure.

“if love is a battlefield, then i must have forgotten all of my armor at home.

– a war i never agreed to fight”

Deep, right? Yes.

I was also pleasantly surprised when I reached the very last page of the book, which happened to be the back cover! Right now, I’m doing my own book design assignment for school, and this is something that I love to see and want to somehow replicate:

img_1202 img_1201

Isn’t this so cool? The left side image is the back cover, and the right side is the front! I love these covers that blend in like this in a way. Does that make sense?

My ultimate favourite part of the book – it was perfect timing for me to be reading this. On January 25th, it was #BellLetsTalk day, where every tweet used with the #BellLetsTalk meant 5 cents was donated to various mental health programs across Canada (this year, they raised $6,585,250! Yes, you read that right! Over $6 million)! Back in the day, mental health was viewed more like a moral setback (it was YOUR fault you had depression, anxiety, etc). Now that it isn’t viewed this way anymore, it’s opening up the discussion now to so many people! That’s why “The Princess Saves Herself in this One” is crucial to read, because (again) it can relate to tons of people and help/inspire them ❤


Final Grade:

Personal Opinion: 4.5/5. I love what Amanda Lovelace stands for, and her story. Her book makes me want to read more poetry.

Technical Opinion: 5/5. Creative verse structures, and a good mix of verse and prose.


Links:

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Website  (BTW, she is having a book signing event at a Barnes & Noble in New Jersey on February 17, 2017! Visit her website for more details!)


Have you read any other edition of this poetry book? What did you think of the poems?

 

12 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Princess Saves Herself in this One” by Amanda Lovelace

  1. This review is everything I felt when I read this. It was at times too much for me to face the reality that Lovelace showed me through mere words.

    And I hope you read more poetry because there are SO many poets out there that write in verse similar to this and you can find slam poetry on youtube which is also of this format.

    On another note, Beez has tried writing a review for it in verse and we’d love it if you could check it out!
    https://ravenandbeez.wordpress.com/2017/05/31/the-princess-saves-herself-in-this-one-amanda-lovelace/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

