Top Ten Tuesday · Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday -Best Books of 2016

toptentuesday

The topic for this week is Top Ten Best Books Of 2016. As usual, this weekly meme is courtesy of the amazing blog, The Broke and the Bookish so make sure to check out their own Top Ten Tuesday list!

I have many favourites this year, so it was a little hard to narrow everything down to a top ten! Do you have any favourites in common with my list? 

1. “Lily and the Octopus” by Steven Rowley: I’ve said it before in my own book review, and almost everywhere else on the internet, but this book is the absolute BEST book I read in 2016. The writing style, plot line, everything was perfect! All pet owners, and those who just love dogs in general, will love the relationship between Ted and Lily.

2. “Hag-Seed” by Margaret Atwood: I love anything Shakespeare related, his plays are always so cool to read. So Margaret Atwood retelling “The Tempest” is a nice way to end my 2016. Keep an eye out for my book review, it’s coming up soon. I’m almost finished.

3. “Small Great Things” by Jodi Picoult: The passion Jodi writes with in every novel is just astounding, I can feel empathy and sadness towards every character (yes, even the bad ones). I loved reviewing this book.

4. “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, & J.K. Rowling: Despite its harsh review, I really did enjoy getting back into the world of Potter. Instead of script-form, I personally would have loved to get a full-on Rowling book experience, but I’m satisfied with the outcome regardless. I’m hoping they show this in Toronto at one point!

5. “The Nest” by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney: Great plot, jam-packed with drama – what else can a girl ask for? And yes, I did review this book!

6. “Dark Matter” by Blake Crouch: I’m not generally a fan of science fiction, but I believe that this is a good book to read if you want to introduce yourself to the genre! I felt like I was in the middle of an Inception-like movie while reading this book.

7. “The Widow” by Fiona Barton: Creepy, and a great mystery/thriller book to get your blood pumping, and that brain working! What really happened? You gotta read it to find out!

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday -Best Books of 2016

  1. I’m kind of intrigued by Lily & the Octopus — I’d assumed I wouldn’t care for it, but now I’m thinking I should give it a try. I really enjoyed Small Great Things as well. So thought-provoking! And I just was given a copy of The Nest by a coworker. I”m glad to see it on your list! Wishing you lots of great reading in 2017!

    Like

  2. For a minute I was like, “I read The Nest, too, and it was amazingly creepy!” and then I realized there must be another book written with the same title as the one by Kenneth Oppel. Alas. Here’s wishing you a new happy reading year.

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

