Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: “Lily and the Octopus” by Steven Rowley

Published: June 2016

 

My Thoughts:

I picked up this book because I heard so many great things about it, but I decided to wait a while to read this book because I thought it would be your classic sob story featuring a beloved animal. I was so wrong! “Lily and the Octopus” is a powerhouse of emotion, I loved every minute of it. Steven Rowley’s effortless writing style just screams “READ! THE! NEXT! PAGE! IGNORE! SLEEP!” (for those who will or have read this, you know what I mean here!). During the course of the novel, the reader is invited along to fight alongside Ted, and help him defeat the octopus who has his menacing hold on Lily. As we see inside the simple life of Lily and Ted, we get to the real issues deeply rooted inside Ted’s mind – the worst thing in the world is to be a prisoner inside your own brain, and we see the excruciating pain Ted has been through, and is going through. Half the time, I found myself being a silent cheerleader, egging Ted on through the decisions he’s had to make.

I was so invested in Ted. Even though there are some other characters like his bestie and Lily, I really found Ted to be the most endearing. The book may be called “Lily and the Octopus”, but “Ted and the Octopus” seems more fitting (just kidding, I agree with the title). Love truly has no bounds here, and I admire Ted for his courage and strength throughout the novel. Ted is such a weird guy though, but it works for him. He takes talking to your pet, and upgrades it to a whole new level that I’m not prepared to go to with my own dog, Domi. Although very quirky, Ted is awesome and you should love him a lot.

There are so many lessons to be learned here, and this is one book that you don’t want to skip out on. It doesn’t matter whether you are a dog person or not; the true meaning of friendship is tested here, and Ted shows us that there are no boundaries when it comes to your best friend. I cannot wait for more Steven Rowley to be published, and I’m excited for more novels of his to come out, when he writes them.

 

Have you already read this book? What did you think?

Summary from Indigo

One thought on “Book Review: “Lily and the Octopus” by Steven Rowley

Leave a Reply

