Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

image_2584

Summary from Goodreads :

“Are you happy with your life?” Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious. Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits. Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable–something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

Thoughts: 

I’m not going to lie, but I’m not a huge fan of Science Fiction, so I can’t say that I’m an expert book reviewer in this category. What I can tell you guys though is that I definitely was impressed by this book! It deals with a lot of issues that I think are relevant to a wide range of people. What if Jason chose the path of academics and fame instead of family and comfort? And what if other Jason’s decided on entirely different tracks life? How do they all end up? 

These are mind blowing questions that Blake Crouch deals with, and I have to commend him for taking on such an intense topic – when writing about so many layers and lives at once, it can get a little confusing. For the most part, he did awesome at this! Unfortunately, I don’t think that this was exactly true for the ending. I was so lost at what was happening, and it’s disappointing because I really liked this book a lot.

I’m not admitting that I’m a #SciFiloverforlyfe but this book did leave a good impression on me, genre wise.

I would have loved to get to know the characters a bit more – I think a lot of their personalities were lost because Blake was trying to write about all these different Jason versions in the book that the original character got sort of lost in the mix. There was a lot of explanations about HOW the other 23874547593 differed from the OG Jason – I personally would have rather had more about this Jason than all the others. But hey, that’s just my decision.

I’m not a fan of his writing style also. I think it could have been more story-teller like (but then again, it’s SciFi, everything is happening so fast and it’s all very technical, so I guess the writing style fits in with this book?).

Final Grade: 

Despite my personal thoughts on the book, I give this book a 6/10. I’m actually really surprised that I liked this book at all – the storyline was pretty cool, and I love the idea! But  I just think it could have maybe been written better, or even just more attention paid to detail.

For any SciFi experts out there, how did I do in reviewing this book? Also (of course) how did you like it?

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Leave a Reply

