Top Ten Tuesday · Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

This weekly meme is brought to you by the Broke and Bookish blog

Theme of the week – books set outside the U.S. 

This is my first ever TTT post, so if I do anything wrong let me know in the comments! Other than that, this is a fairly easy one because I live in Canada. So for the sake of our home and native land (see what I did there?) I think I’ll just focus on Canadian settings!

1. The Orenda by Joseph Boyden – this was the first book I ever read of his, and although it was kinda gross at times, I appreciated everything about it. If you don’t know much about Canada’s history, I think this a good fictionalized place to start!

2. The Rez Sisters by Tomson Highway – the setting of this play is at Manitoulin Island. When I read this a couple years ago, I remember thinking how weird Nanabush was (I mean SERIOUSLY!). I appreciate this play though because of how different it is.

3. The Jade Peony by Wayson Choy – set in Vancouver, three siblings are left to discover their own identities as Chinese-Canadians. I loved this book because I really did learn a lot of how it was like being a Chinese-Canadian during World War II. I also liked the fact that this book was told entirely through the children’s perspectives.

Well, there you have it! Not a long list, I know. What are your TTT Canadian reads? 

 

Leave a Reply

