Book Reviews

Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Summary from Chapters website:

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.
Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.
A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Thoughts: 

I honestly believed that I would hate this book, just because I’m usually not a huge fan of this style. This book however proved me wrong, despite its slow start. As I got more invested in the characters, I couldn’t put this book down. I will admit I committed book blasphemy – I read the ending. BUT in this case, it benefited from my overal impression of the novel since I realized it was not going to be a typical ending, which I appreciate. 

I did find the plot line boring and repetitive at times, but I do understand that Louisa’s life is boring and repetitive so therefore the plot line follows this direction a bit. For me, the best part of the novel was reading how WIll transforms out of his shell, almost into the guy who he used to be. My FAVOURITE part of “Me Before You” was when Louisa first met Will, and he acted like he was extremely disabled – unable to talk properly, stuff like that. It was great comic relief for the intensity that a reader must have felt, wondering how Louisa would tackle her new job. 

This was a semi-typical love story, and it was cute and nice to read for the most part. I’m not entirely in love with it, but I do think that readers who favour this type of book over anything else will definitely appreciate this novel more than I did. 
Have you read the book / watched the movie? What did you think? 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s