Book Reviews

Book Review: “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” by C.S. Lewis

Summary from back cover: Narnia…a land frozen in eternal winter…a country waiting to be set free. Four adventurers step through a wardrobe door and into the land of Narnia – a land enslaved by the power of the White Witch. But when almost all hope is lost, the return of the Great Lion, Aslan, signals a great change…and a great sacrifice.

Thoughts: I read this book for my Children’s Literature class. I think it was a great way to start off the semester (despite the prof being super boring). Here’s why: 

It made me realize how awesome this book was. I read it a while ago before the movie came out, so it was kind of cool to reread this book again.. I will say though that before this class, I never really liked Edmund much, but now he’s my favourite character! Even though he betrayed them, in the end his people called him Edmund the Just, so he redeemed himself the many years they were at Narnia. I don’t know WHY I missed out on the fact that Edmund was bullied at school…I guess I was too young to read in between those lines. I think that his bad experiences at school, and the darkness that first surrounds his character is understandable now that I know his background more. It’s obviously no excuse, but hey. at least it makes him more relatable (let’s face it- we’ve all been bullied at one point). 

I love the fantastical element to it, and just the whole story in general. Who WOULDN’T want to find a whole other world in their closets, and live there for many years with virtually no time at all being passed in our world….like that’s amazing! I will say though that I found the plot line not really developed at times…almost like Lewis sort of rushed through writing scenes. I don’t know, that’s just the impression I got a few times. With that being said, I think that the characters also could have been a little more developed in general. I know it’s the second book in the series, so I think that’s what hurts my impression of them. 

Overall: I think this book was so refreshing to read, it really reminded me of not only my childhood, but the possibilites and imagination that come with it as well. #TeamEdmund. 8/10, well done Lewis. Well done.
  

One thought on “Book Review: “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” by C.S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

