Book Reviews

Book Review: The Time Keeper, by Mitch Albom

20140126-171247.jpg

This book is all about Dor, and the consequences he faces because of his need to count out everything. In this tale, Dor is Father Time, and we learn more about his devastating tale throughout the novel. It is up to Dor, however, to find and locate two people in the entire world, and help them somehow. Through helping them, he is under the impression that he will finally be able to do something that he hasn’t been able to for centuries…die.

When I read a new book by an author I’m not sure about, I pay close attention to their writing style, because that is one of the major ways that captures my attention. And this book definitely has style. Nice, clean, short chapters make it easy to keep the readers attention, and easy to take a quick break if you need to (which you won’t with this book!)

The characters are well thought out…one old rich guy who doesn’t want to end (Victor), and one young teenager who doesn’t fit in (Sarah). They were pretty relatable, but I find that this book was more plot-driven than character-driven, which was pretty surprising. My first impression was that the characters would be more complex, and deeper. Which they weren’t…which isn’t a bad thing!

The story/plot line though is awesome though! I loved how everything tied nicely together in the end. I had high expectations for this book, and for some reason they fell a bit short. I will be reading more of this author, because I want to see what else Mitch has in store! It is undeniable that he has a unique imagination, and I really like that about Mitch, it really shows through in this book!

Overall, I’ll give this book a 7.5/10. I think a bonus should be added though, because everyone of all ages will enjoy this book, and can read it with ease! What do you have to say?

Leave a Reply

