Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: Just Breathe, by Heather Allen

Image

 

 

Just Breathe by Heather Allen is the first book in its trilogy. It follows the story of Ever Harding, a normal teenager going through a sudden breakup, trying to recover from it, plus all of the added pressure of choosing a college to attend the following year. Along the way, she meets Jack, the mysterious new boy who is pretty attractive, and it’s only a matter of time before Ever becomes involved with him. However, Jack is sent from the sea, to ensure that Ever makes the right decision on the night of her 18th birthday – Jack needs to make sure that Ever chooses to stay as a human, and not choose life in the sea, because her alone can upset the delicate balance of the underworld. 

 

First off, I haven’t written a review in a while and I’m a little bit rusty…so bear with me please! 

 

Overall, this book was okay. I love the story and I think the idea is totally amazing. But it’s just the writing style, and the silly mistakes in the book that were a major turn off. Heather Allen’s writing style is a lot different than the writing style I am used to, so it was a big change for me to read something so different. Add the punctuation mistakes and everything else in between, and it wasn’t a very good first impression to me. More attention paid to the editing process and brushing up on the style of the writing would have been better, in my opinion. She words her sentences weirdly, and at points throughout the novel, she would have something weird, like “dialogue of Ever talking.” I stopped to think about what Jack said. “more dialogue of Ever talking.” I know I’m not making myself clear…but if you download this free Kobo book, then you’ll see what I mean. 

 

I love to support small-time authors that are trying to make it in the publishing world. So would I recommend this book to others? Absolutely! I am 19 now, and the characters are roughly around this age in the novel…but I don’t think it’s at my reading level. 14-16 year olds might enjoy it more than me. I’m an English major, so I’m reading a lot of sophisticated works by many different authors, so it’s really hard for me to not compare my pleasure reading to my school readings.

 

Overall, I think I’ll give this book a 6/10….the story is different (in a good way) but I find it too young for my liking, because I honestly thought it was going to be a lot older than it seemed. The style and awkward wording was a bit annoying at times, and too simple for my taste.

 

Does anyone else feel like I do?  

Leave a Reply

