Life as an English Major · Uncategorized

Life as an English Major: Week 3

So, last week I didn’t post anything up, because I had a bridal shower to go to, so by the time I came home I was burnt out! BUT I’m back now! 

 

Anyways, so it’s now the third week of school….and damn is it starting to get busy! I have an essay due for my English class in about 3 weeks. I’m trying to start it now (well, at least the bulk of my research) so that way I have time to edit and go to the writing center to see what they say about it. I haven’t ever gone to the writing center before at Glendon..and I’m so dumb, if only I actually went to it last year, I probably would have done better! Well, it’s better late than never. I hope this writing center works, because I need amazing marks this year so I can stay in my program! UGH. 

Anyways, so for my essay I’ll be writing about Beowulf, and how it either celebrates/challenges/critiques certain values. I think it’s easier to write about how certain attributes are challenged; so I’m thinking of steering my argument towards the author challenging heroism (more specifically the COURAGE of a hero through Beowulf’s ego, selfishness and impracticality). Hopefully this idea works….because I have nothing else after this. If anyone has any ideas, please post them here. I’m in desperate need! 

 

In Linguistics, we’re going on to Phonology…I think this chapter is going to be a challenge for me. I took the Structure of Grammar last year, and this was my weakest test, if I remember correctly. So now this is the time for me to redeem myself from last years C+. So I have no choice BUT to do good in this class! The teacher (Marcia) is really nice. I’ve heard her tests are hard, because she puts stuff on them that weren’t talked about in class…but I still have to write a test, so I don’t know how much of that is true. Only time will tell! 

 

This week for my Reading Shakespeare class, our homework was to read Othello. OH MY GOD. I loved it! It has everything that keeps me entertained…love, jealousy, revenge, and a whole lot of drama! It was so worth it to read it until 2 a.m.! This is now my new favourite Shakespeare play! I can’t wait for the lecture on Wednesday (surprisingly..the class is usually boring).  

Leave a Reply

