Book Reviews · MaddAddam Series · Uncategorized

Book Review: Oryx and Crake, by Margaret Atwood

download Published: 2003

Oryx and Crake is the first in the MaddAddam series, by Canadian author Margaret Atwood. She tells the story of how one man, Snowman, ended up taking care of a human-like species, a species unlike him, superior to him in every way, yet they look up to him as a sort of God. The novel switches between Snowman’s current life and his past life, and as the story goes on, we learn how Snowman came into possession of these odd beings, called Crakers.

 

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t much into this book at first because I wasn’t really sure of what was going on. But once the story line started to make a little more sense, it was pretty hard to put the book down! After reading this book, I started to appreciate the mysteriousness that Margaret Atwood used at the beginning, when I wasn’t really into it. It was a great start, when looking in hindsight. I think it’s a good way to keep a reader guessing what could possibly have landed Snowman into the dire situation he was in. I think I didn’t like the beginning much because I started this book without a cappuccino. I’ve recently discovered that my overall impression on a book is how well I make a cappuccino. It’s awful, I know.

The characters in this book are amazing. All their secrets, quirks, lies…beautiful. I love it. The characters Margaret Atwood has created perfectly fit the type of book she has written here; mysterious, cunning, and exciting.

Although this book is old, I will bring it up to compare with The Hunger Games, since they are both the same genre, which is dystopian. The Hunger Games is less complex of a plot line, it’s very straightforward in fact, whereas in Oryx and Crake, I had to read a sentence a few times just to try and read in between the lines, to see if there was any clue as to what might happen. Basically, if you’re past the age of 16, I think that Oryx and Crake should be more appealing to you, because of the higher level of sophistication to it, and I’m positive you’ll be much happier with it.

I give this book a 9/10. Regardless of the confusing start at first, I really did enjoy it, and it was hands down the best dystopian novel I have read so far. Teenagers who still read…UGH….vampire books, stay away. I doubt you’ll appreciate this novel, not at least until you’re past the current stage you are in. I can’t wait to finish reading The Year of the Flood. It’s going to be awesome!

One thought on “Book Review: Oryx and Crake, by Margaret Atwood

Leave a Reply

