Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: Nineteen Minutes, by Jodi Picoult

cvr9781416538950_9781416538950_hr  Published: 2007

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult is a classic novel about the effects of bullying, and what it may cause a victim to do…more specifically a school shooting. We are sucked into the story of Peter Houghton, and what bullying has made him turn into; a cold blooded murderer who has committed the most heinous of crimes. And as the time for his trial comes closer, the chips start to fall into place of what really happened on that horrifying day.

I should start off by saying that I LOVE Jodi Picoult with a passion. Anything she writes will always be perfect in my bias view of her writing…and this book is no exception!

I’m a big fan of legal novels, so this is a bonus when it comes to this book. The whole legal process, and the adrenaline rush it can give, it’s just so enticing to read along to it, and the fast pace of this trial is really big. It’s high profile, and something that people want done fast…and there’s not much of a case for the defense (or, in other words, a case that will help Peter). So it makes the trial part of her novels that much more interesting. For those who are familiar with jodi Picoult’s work, you will know what I mean, since there is mostly the same outcome in every book.

I think I love Jodi Picoult so much because of how real she makes her characters. It’s really easy to connect with them and feel bad for them…even if it is the bad guy. And I truly did feel sorry for Peter in this book. He was a pretty bad person, I think the worst person in all the books I’ve read of Jodi Picoult’s so far.

I like the way the book ended as well. Her books usually end very similar to each other, but this one ended on a different note, which is refreshing. Some people (unfortunately) may get bored with the same set up of a book. But I don’t see why these books will ever get boring…yes, there is the same set up, but it’s the story itself that’s so good. Jodi Picoult recreates her own work in each new novel…but she recreates it in a way that makes it new, fresh, and her work just keeps escalating from there.

 

Overall, this book gets an absolute 10/10 stars! Do I really have to say how much of a sucker I am for a Jodi Picoult novel? BE WARNED though! The reason why it took me so long to read this was that I had to stop every few minutes for a while to stop myself from crying (yes, I’m a huge baby). So if you’re an easy crier…well, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

One thought on “Book Review: Nineteen Minutes, by Jodi Picoult

Leave a Reply

