Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling, by “Robert Galbraith”

images (6)

 

The Cuckoo’s Calling byΒ Robert Galbraith (aka JK Rowling) is about Cormoran Strike, an ex-military man who is currently a private detective. Right when his life seems to have reached a permanent low (what with dumping his fiance and his endless debts). Even through all this, Cormoran finds himself employing a temporary employee that he can’t afford, plus he gets a request from a wealthy lawyer, John Bristow, to re investigate his sisters suspicious suicide. As Cormoran slowly starts to piece together the answers of the crime, he also learns a little bit about himself and what he needs to keep in his life, and eliminate.

 

I’ll admit it. I’m guilty of only buying this book because it was revealed that Robert Galbraith was actually J.K. Rowling. But this definitely didn’t influence my overall impression of this book. The attention to detail, the flawless plot line (I’m a huge sucker for any kind of crime novel), and the fabulous characters; J.K. Rowling is a true literary genius. I think she has successfully broken from only being associated with Harry Potter to a woman who can write anything.

This book is extremely long……it took 12 hours for me to read it (according to Kobo). But through all the late nights staying up, and the major headaches the following morning, this book is definitely worth the time. Fans of crime fiction, I can guarantee that you will absolutely love it….so many unexpected twists and turns! Even I had it wrong at about who the killer was (and I’m usually right). So this is a book that won’t disappoint! I will go out on a limb and say that everyone will like it…even if you aren’t a fan of J.K. Rowling herself, it’s still a great book to read! I hope all of you get the chance to read this book. There will be more Cormoran Strike books……and I’d honestly be surprised if these don’t turn into a movie, if not a mini tv series like Under the Dome currently is (which is a great show, by the way).

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling, by “Robert Galbraith”

  1. So, let me guess, you’re a Potterhead? Haha, I was so excited when I heard about this book. And then, on my birthday, I was in the bookstore, and I was really disappointed because I doubted that it would have released yet here. And it was completely by luck that I stumbled upon this one. Perfect birthday gift, but I haven’t started yet, because I want to clear off the multiple books I’m reading now. I don’t want to crowd my book list.
    Keep writing!

    Like

      1. Well, just from the way you wrote the review. I’m a part of the fandom. I’ve written a blog post about why I love Harry Potter too, you can check it out at:
        http://www.theundeniablebibliomane.wordpress.com
        If you ever find the time. And I’ll be sure to post a book review on it, and tell you about it.
        Keep Writing! πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

