Random Rants · Uncategorized

Grammar Nazi-ing Miley Cyrus

Don’t get me wrong…I’m totally in love with her new song We Can’t Stop!!! But that one line….

     “We run things, things don’t run we”

I physically cringe every time I hear this line. I have no clue what the writers of this song. What were they thinking? Can they please write something that MAKES grammatical sense? I’m almost positive that with out vast language, you guys could have made something rhyme that made grammatical sense.

Either way, I still love this song, and I’m totally psyched for her album to come out! I’ve watched EVERY Hannah Montana episode, and I haven’t stopped loving her since then! I definitely can’t hate her now….the grammar nazi in me just can’t stand it….I can’t help it. 

3 thoughts on “Grammar Nazi-ing Miley Cyrus

  1. YIKES.
    You DO see there is no “grammar nazi” in you… Right?
    Look how many errors you spilled out when the topic is grammar!
    Wow. Just… wow.
    One of your worst mishaps ‘sentences’ is in the beginning:

    “I have no clue what the writers of this song.”

    You soon after, ask: “Can they please write something that MAKES grammatical sense?”
    I think the real question is, can YOU?

    I love this next one:

    “I’m almost positive that with out vast language, you guys could have made something rhyme that made grammatical sense.”

    There are two problems with that and my 7th grader caught the other one before I did.

    PS: I loathed the old cheesy MiCy… I think the first and only song I have ever liked is ‘We Can’t Stop’ and I can’t even say that I like it. (There is still too much country twang.) However, one sentence and one sentence alone makes me cringe with awesomeness:

    “WE RUN THINGS, THINGS DONT RUN WE!”

    Freaking amazing. If you don’t get it…. You are somehow just….. Behind. Check out some cool palindromes or play Sudoku in your underwear for a change. You probably don’t get doll on doll on doll either, I’m guessing. You don’t love Miley, you love what you think the icon is to you. It’s marketing.

    That line was smart. The others… Not so much.

    Your response: worse.

    Love,
    FELLOW CRITC OF SPEECH

    Like

    1. So you blame me for not having a “grammar nazi” in me. That’s nice.

      So explain to me, Queen/King of Grammar, why you’re calling me out on my SPELLING mistakes? Let me spell this out for you (properly this time) in a way you might be able to understand.

      SPELLING is NOT a part of GRAMMAR.

      So next time you call me out on something, make sure it’s something that I have actually done wrong. If you don’t like it, too bad. It’s my personal blog, and I write what I want.

      Did that make grammatical sense to you?

      WIth love,
      SOMEONE WHO HAS A LIFE.

      Like

  2. I am not a Miley Cyrus fan but that’s actually my favourite part of the song. Let me explain, this is a Jamaican patois idiom meaning “We are in control of our own destiny.”

    There are Jamaican dancehall and reggae songs that have used this idiom decades ago for example “We run tings” by Flourgon.

    I hope the next time you hear that line it makes you cringe a little less 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

