Ballet School Confidential Series · Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: Love You, Hate You- Charis Marsh

Image

 

Love You, Hate You is the first book in the Ballet School Confidential series by Charis Marsh. This book is about all the senior students at the Vancouver International Ballet Academy, focusing mostly on Kaitlyn, Taylor, Alexandra, and Julian. The book lets us see how life for aspiring ballerinas can be tough, especially with all the drama, grudges, and diets to deal with. 

 

As a lover of Dance Moms and a former ballet/tap dancer, I really enjoyed this book. It was an easy read, didn’t take too long, and it had lots of drama- which I love. I think this book has a lot to offer, and it definitely sets the second book up well! It ended at a great time…Christmas break. 

I think it was a bit young though for me to be reading it. I think 14-16 year olds will enjoy it more, but again, as a dance lover, it was easy to ignore this. There was a problem with the format (sometimes at a new paragraph I thought it was part of the previous one, but it clearly was starting a new part of the story, so that was a bit confusing).

 

Other than those formatting mistakes, I think this novel was pretty good. I wouldn’t go so far as to say that everyone is going to like it. I think you have to be more of a dance lover to truly appreciate this book. I don’t think it would be worth it to buy this if you’re a sci-fi lover, but hey, you should always take a shot and try new genres to read!

One thought on “Book Review: Love You, Hate You- Charis Marsh

Leave a Reply

