Uncategorized

Ereader VS Hardcopy: Is There Really a Better Choice?

I’ve been on here a lot, scrolling through all the book blogs I can find, just reading through some entries. I’ve noticed that a lot of people are addressing the issue of what is better to read on: an ereader or the hardcopy book. Here’s my take on it.

 

I have my own ereader, the Kobo Touch (purple backround…LOVE it!). It’s so fast and easy to use. With a slide of a power button (which I’m terrified will break), I have all the access I want to the books on my Kobo..the different shelves I have put together, the hours I’ve read on it so far (187.6 hours), book recommendations, awards…everything is cataloged for me in one tiny device.

On the other hand, I have two overflowing bookshelves here, all overstuffed with the books I have bought over the years (I’d say between me and my parents, there’s thousands of dollars worth of books here…maybe one day I’ll look at the pricing and try to come up with an estimate). There’s something different about reading hard copy books that I just can’t put my finger on. Obviously, it’s a different experience than on the Kobo….you can feel the weight of the book in your hands, the feel of the pages, the worn edges, the multiple food stains on pages that you never even knew you dropped. I think I’ll always have a personal connection to a hard copy book not only because it forms the majority of books I own, but also because one of my earliest childhood memories is me, sitting on the floor at about age 4 or 5, with a stack of library books taller than me, and I was there just going through them like no tomorrow (they were all baby books at that time…didn’t take too long to finish them).

 

With all that I just said, I still can’t help but wonder – is there really a better choice between an ereader and the actual book? I think it all comes down to what a person prefers, and their lifestyle. If they commute a lot, then the best choice obviously would be an ereader. But if one doesn’t read on the bus or whatnot, and prefer to read at home, then the hardcopy is best for you. It seems that everyone today is forced to choose a side to be on, but it shouldn’t be that way. It shouldn’t matter that technology is the way to go, or that print is old school and not with the times. What should matter is that you’re reading books you love, and for whatever reason you want to read (as an escape from reality, for example). 

 

All my reading is done on my Kobo (except for university textbooks/novels). I still don’t feel like I’m forced to choose between a better form. All I concentrate on is reading the book, and very slowly, moving on from it. Because let’s face it…it’s pretty hard to stop thinking about a book you truly enjoyed. 

Leave a Reply

