Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Book Review: Amanda Hocking-Wake

Image

Wake, by Amanda Hocking, is the first book in The Watersong series. This story brings us into the everyday lives of Harper and Gemma, two sisters who are as close as ever. Gemma was basically raised by Harper after a freak accident happened to their mother, and it was just their father and themselves living in their home. When Harper starts to suspect that Gemma is hanging out with the new and mysterious girls, she starts to get worried about Gemma’s well being. On top of that, Gemma is dating the boy next door, Harper’s best friend, plus some boys have gone missing. Right now, Harper’s world is turning upside down, and worrying about Gemma is her main priority. When Gemma goes too far with these strange girls, Harper still pushes to keep her safe, only making Gemma’s decision that much harder.

 

I’m glad that this fantasy novel didn’t involve vampires. Instead, this teen novel consisted of sirens (which are basically mermaids, except more monstrous). What was good about this novel was that it was different…yeah, that’s it. I think that  the story line has potential to be amazing, but I don’t think it quite reached that. What I mean here is that I found this book to be extremely boring. It was really easy (for me) to guess what would happen next, and I don’t like to do that…I love surprises, and this book lacked them all. I understand that this is only the first book in its series, and the author needs to build up the suspense for the second book (Lullaby), and the third one (Tidal, to be released in June), but c’mon. At least The Hunger Games was pretty fast paced. If you change the font and format of The Hunger Games, you can put them all into one novel, and I feel like this could happen with The Watersong series as well….and I’m not willing to pay $10.99 (on the Kobo website) for another one of these books again. Also, I just have too many different series going on right now, so I’d rather spend my time and money on those.

 

If you’re looking for a new series to read and you love teen fantasy, yet you want to stay away from vampires, then I would definitely recommend this book to you. If you are an avid reader of all different types of genres though, I think you should stay away from this. Yes, it’s different, but it’s predictable and boring. I spent more time texting while reading this than doing the actual reading.

Leave a Reply

